Income and Poverty

Poverty Measures

There are two main different measures of poverty: Poverty Thresholds and Poverty Guidelines.  The U.S. Census Bureau uses Poverty Thresholds to determine people that fall below the poverty line.  The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services uses Poverty Guidelines to determine people that are financially eligible for certain government programs.  To learn more about these poverty measures, visit the two links below:

Census Bureau's Poverty Information Web Site 

Health and Human Services Poverty Guidelines


Income and Poverty Data


Public Reports on Income and Poverty